Boy Scout Troop 465 Hickory Flat, GA

Gerald Dobson
4th Troop 465 Scoutmaster
2002 - 2009

Gerald Dobson served as the Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 465 from 2002-2009. Gerald and his wife, Cathy became affiliated with Troop 465 in 1992, when their son Jeremy became a Scout at age 11. Scoutmaster Dobson says that the tremendous reputation of Troop 465 and of George Lingefelt was the reason why they chose Troop 465. Gerald and Cathy’s other two sons, Joshua and Jamey, also joined the troop when they turned 11. Also, all three of Gerald's sons have earned the rank of Eagle Scout.

Gerald was born in 1957 and grew up in Ball Ground, Georgia. (He is quick to point out that he’s actually from the Clayton community, which is between Keithburg and Gober.) Growing up, he was a Boy Scout in another Cherokee County troop, and enjoyed camping and hiking. Gerald graduated from Cherokee High School in 1975, and joined the Air National Guard for weekend duty in 1976. Gerald married the former Cathy Reece in 1978, and then began working for Lockheed in 1981. In 1984, he left Lockheed to become a full time reservist, and obtained the rank of Chief Master Sergeant for the 283rd Combat Communications Squadron at Dobbins Air Force Base. In 2007, Gerald retired from the military.

Troop 465 is fortunate to have had Gerald Dobson as their Scoutmaster, and his entire family should be credited for helping to create the wonderful Scouting experience that our boys receive today.

If you have any questions about joining Boy Scout Troop 465, you are invited you to contact us.

Like Our Facebook Page Follow Us On Twitter Follow Us On Instagram Subscribe to our YouTube Channel


October 30, 2021
Merit Badge Summit
Atlanta Area Council
Volunteer Service Center

November 12 - 14, 2021
Scout Skills Academy
Red Top Mountain
State Park

December 3 - 5, 2021
Shooting Sports Campout
Pickens County
Sportsmen Club

Troop 465 Online Store
Pay for outings, dues, and purchase Troop merchandise


BSA Troop 465, 5742 East Cherokee Drive
Canton, GA 30115

Scoutmaster - Jason Norred,

Committee Chair - Ken Orris,

For website suggestions, history site additions, pictures of troop events to upload, etc., please email:
Updated 10/17/2021